You’re My Type

Our Occasions Mini Catalog will be expiring on April 30th. I thought I would make a few cards showing some of my favorite stamp sets from the catalog. I’m hoping some of these sets will make it into the new catalog due out on June 1st, but we can’t be sure that they will. If you have a set you’ve been looking at, now is the time to add it to your collection before it is gone! Here is my card using the You’re My Type stamp set.

Here’s the how-to:

  • I started with Chocolate Chip card stock cut in a 6-1/2″ square, scored at 3-1/4″. This card will fit in Stampin’ Up!’s Small Open End Envelopes.
  • Stamp the typewriter from the You’re My Type stamp set in Chocolate Chip on scrap Very Vanilla card stock. Cut out.
  • Stamp “a little note” on the typewriter page. Set aside.
  • Cut a piece of Daffodil Delight card stock at 6-1/2″ x 3/4″. Punch the long edge of the card stock using the Scallop Trim Border Punch.
  • I next cut a piece of the First Edition Specialty Paper  6-1/2″ x 2″. I attached the two pieces together.
  • Next add the pleated ribbon. The instructions for the pleated ribbon are as follows:
  • I’m just using this black card stock and Marina Mist ribbon as a sample. Start by just placing two strips of Sticky Strip on the back side of the card stock. This will hold the ends of your ribbon.
  • Now place a strip of Sticky Strip across the front of  your card stock where you want the ribbon placed. Remove the covering from the Sticky Strip.
  • Place your ribbon partially down as shown, pushing the ribbon into the Sticky Strip.
  • Now we make our first pleat. I really need my daughter to come home from college and show me how to make a video. This would be so much easier! I made a fold in the ribbon and overlapped it, pressing a small piece of the tail of the ribbon into the Sticky Strip.
  • I’m sure this is as clear as mud, but I hope you can get the idea. Continue pleating as many as will fit on the card.
  • Finally, I added a Mini Glue Dot to the back of each of the pleats to make them lie fairly flat.
  • Your finished ribbon should look like this.
  • Now use this technique with the Chocolate Chip Satin Ribbon, attaching it to the First Edition paper and Daffodil Delight card stock as shown. Leave room for your cut typewriter. Your first pleat will begin then. Leave a space at the end of the ribbon without a pleat and then wrap the very end of your ribbon to the back of the piece.
  • Attach the finished ribbon piece to the card base.
  • Attach the typewriter to the card using Dimensionals.
  • Punch out flowers using the Boho Blossoms punch from scrap First Edition Specialty Paper and Daffodil Delight card stock. Insert a Chocolate Chip brad and attach flowers as shown with Mini Glue Dots.

Good luck!

