Graduations!

I’m sorry I’ve been missing in action for a while. I had fun preparing for my Open House and want to thank everyone who attended. One of the gifts my guests received was a purse using the Big Shot with the new Petite Purse Bigz L die.

Aren’t they adorable? They are so fun and easy to make. The die does all the work for you.

But I digress! I wanted to show you the graduation card I made for a friend’s son’s high school graduation. I borrowed a design from another demonstrator, Wendy Hawkinson, and modified it to work for me.

Here is the how-to:

  • First I started with an 8-1/2 x 11 sheet of Basic Black card stock. I scored the card stock at 4″ and 8″.  I folded the card stock and punched an oval in the bottom 3″ section so you can see what’s inside the pocket. After all, the grad isn’t as interested in my design as he is in the contents! I secured the sides of that pocket section with Sticky Strip.
  • I’m having a hard time explaining, so I hope the photo at the bottom here showing the inside of the card will help.
  • The Neutral Designer Series Paper came to the rescue for the added stripes, attaching them to the card front.
  • A Real Red card stock strip was attached. I took another strip of Whisper White card stock and stamped “congratulations” from another retired Stampin’ Up! stamp set, inking the stamp with VersaMark and then embossing with Basic Black Embossing Powder.
  • I cut the end of the embossed piece to give it that ribbon effect. Out came my bone folder, and I ran it along the piece to give it a bit of a curl to add some dimension to the card and attached it with Mini Glue Dots.
  • Finally I punched stars using some of Stampin’ Up!’s retired star punches out of Basic Gray and Basic Black card stock and attached them with Dimensionals.
  • I always like to add a little something to the inside (besides the cash!). A few more stars were added, and then I also made a little notecard to tuck in the pocket with our personal congratulations, which I blanked out.

Hope you like the card!

