Mother-in-Law Birthday Card

My mother-in-law will be turning 85 this weekend, and I CASE’d this card from another demonstrator. I made a few changes of my own, but I loved her basic template. My mother-in-law doesn’t have a computer, so this will still be a surprise for her. However, my mother does follow my blog, so I’ll need to come up with something new for her next birthday!

Here is the quick how-to:

  • I pulled out my retired Attic Boutique Designer Series Paper. I love our Designer Paper because it doesn’t require any thinking on my part to determine whether everything matches or not. Color coordination is definitely not my strong suit. I took a strip of Very Vanilla card stock and attached 3/4″ x 4-1/4″ Attic Boutique Paper strips to it. I added a piece of 3/8″ Daffodil Delight Taffeta Ribbon to the top. I then attached the entire piece to the Pool Party card base.
  • Next, I simply started trimming the strips of paper to different lengths and trimmed the ends.
  • Out came the Big Shot and the Delicate Doilies Sizzlet. I die-cut the doily from Soft Suede card stock. I adhered a 2-1/2″ circle of Attic Boutique Paper to it and then an additional 2″ circle of paper onto that.
  • Now comes the fun part. I cut two small pieces from our On Board Sheets (otherwise known as chipboard). I took the Multipurpose Adhesive Sheet and adhered it to the chipboard, pulled off the backing piece, and then placed my Attic Boutique Paper on top of that. Now I have a piece of chipboard securely covered with paper. I ran it through the Big Shot using some Sizzix dies that I had when I used the old red Sizzix machine. Those old dies run great through the Big Shot. I do need to remind you that the chipboard will only cut well with the thick dies, not the Sizzlets. My chipboard pieces were adhered to the doily using Mini Glue dots, and the whole piece was placed on the card base using Dimensionals.
  • I added the “Happy Birthday” from the Create a Cupcake stamp set, stamping it in Soft Suede on another piece of the Attic Boutique Paper. I added it to the card, trimming the end to the card edge.
  • Finally I tied a bow using the Daffodil Delight Ribbon and adhered it to the card. I also curled up the ends of my Attic Boutique Paper strips to give it a little more dimension.

Hope you enjoyed this fun card!

